top of page

KPOP-TV Street Fair Banner

This is a banner I designed for my KPOP-TV internship. The banner was used for tabling at a street fair.


Since this was my first time designing a banner, I searched for examples to brainstorm ideas. I specifically looked for horizontal banners.


The examples gave me a good idea for how to make the banner and place the information provided by my boss, so a few sketches were made.


The next step was moving to Adobe Illustrator. The banner had to be 3x10 feet, so I converted that and made the document 36x120 inches in Illustrator. Because of the large size, it was challenging trying to center/move everything.

Inspired by the KPOP-TV Facebook/Twitter banner, I made the street fair banner's text look similar by using the same fonts as the street fair flyer. Archivo Black was used for the "24HR K-POP TV" text while Arimo was for the rest. The tracking was left unedited, as the text looked fine as is. The channel numbers 32.1 and 70.1 were bolded to highlight the information. I added a line, like one of the examples, to separate certain information.


Just like the flyer, my boss wanted a TV on the banner. Only this time, a specific request was made to have a silhouette of a K-pop group with a nice background on the TV, to make it look like a music video. To make the silhouette, I found a screenshot of BTS dancing to their song "Boy With Luv", image traced it to a low fidelity photo, expanded, then deleted the background to keep their body outlines. The last thing was to fill in with black to make them silhouettes. For the background, a screenshot from a video on https://www.storyblocks.com/ was used, since my boss had a subscription for the site.

"24HR K-POP TV" specifically needed to be emphasized, so "AMERICA'S" and "NETWORK" were reverted to Arimo font.


For the finishing touches, my boss wanted a border and drop shadows. I added the border around the logo area to match the height of the TV. For coloring, I tried the cube colors, but then went with one of the greens from the logo. Drop shadows were added to the logo, TV, and "24HR K-POP TV" as requested for the final design.


Komentáře


bottom of page